No, you can’t block or spike the serve in volleyball. The rules are very clear and specifically designed to make this impossible. The rule is that you can’t make the first contact after the service a play where the ball is completely above the height of the net.
If you’ve ever watched volleyball, you have probably noticed that all the players execute the service with their palms. In the FIVB rules, it doesn’t say that players are allowed to do so. They can serve with any part of their hands or arms. So, in reality, they can serve with their elbows or wrists.
See more videos for Volleyball Can You Set A Serve
If you are a server and you realize you've given yourself a bad toss, according to volleyball serve rules you can let the tossed ball drop. Once the ball drops, you can catch the ball. A fter its been dropped , the referee will blow their whistle indicating that the complete service action will begin again and will give you, the server a second opportunity to serve within 5 seconds time .
* Dropping a serve depends on the rules you are using and the age. If you are playing club, the rule is different about letting the ball drop. For 14 and under competitions, you can toss the ball and let it drop once for every time you complete a serve. For 15 and up competitions, you must hit every toss. You cannot let the toss hit the floor or it will be a sideout. The rule for the NCAA is the same. If you toss it, you will hit it. Tips To Pass Onto Players
Overhand Serve 1. Start in an up-and-back stride with most of your weight on your back right foot. 2. The left hand holds the volleyball extended forward and in front of your right side. 3. The shoulder is forward and the right shoulder is back ready to draw back. 4. Toss the ball in front of your ...
In volleyball, you’re not allowed to block the serve directly. Even for those of you tall enough to do it while standing, you’re not allowed to spike the ball back from above the height of the net, either. That was the standard answer I would give, but it took me some time to appreciate how important the question is.
you can set overhead ANY ball in the beach volleyball if you can do it as perfectly as a very good set on a second touch of the team, and there are two errors you need to avoid: 1) commit lift/grab errors 2) touch the ball twice (when it comes TO your hands, and when goes FROM your hands). In real life it is almost impossible to handle the serve as good as a good set — maybe, if you have titanium fingers with hydraulic drive.
A player serves whenever his team wins the point. If the serving player team won the point when he was serving, he can serve again. He serves until his team loses the point. So, in theory, one player can serve even 25 times per set (that’s how long one set is). But I haven’t seen anyone serving 25 times in a row. Usually, players don’t serve longer than 4 times in a row.
More Volleyball Can You Set A Serve images